probability

Coin Flipping Problem

Elo from LessWrong suggested this problem:

I write a sequence of n heads or tails on paper.

I then start flipping a sequence of n coins. If next coin does not match my sequence, I restart a new sequence of n coins.

What is the rule for the relationship between how many coins I need to flip to get the sequence I have pre-committed to and the length of the sequence of?

Discussion there:

http://lesswrong.com/r/discussion/lw/pg3/open_thread_september_25_october_1_2017/dxlt

Standard

3 thoughts on “Coin Flipping Problem

  1. Pingback: Rational Feed – deluks917

  2. guest says:

    I’m still hoping for the 10K BC post!

    A dedicated post on the earth rotation/temp thing.
    And maybe one on the greenhouse gasses dogma!

    I hope it’s not up to a coin flip, or do i?

Leave a comment